Blog Posts

How To: Manage WordPress Posts

28 Aug How To: Manage WordPress Posts

The posts in your WordPress site are at the front and center of everything you do within the WordPress admin panel. Often, themes will make use of posts, and no other custom post types, when displaying content, so knowing how manage them is an important aspect in maintaining your websites content.

Adding a post

Simply adding a post is very easy. On the left side click Posts > Add New. A form will come up with all the info for the post: title, content, etc. A couple of things to note:

  1. Make sure a category is selected. The default is usually “uncategorized” which is not usually what you want the post to be categorized as. To change the default go to Posts > Categories. You must have at least one category, so you can’t delete the “uncategorized” category, you can only rename it. Make it the most used category, so all posts will default to it. Each post needs at least one category, if not more.
  2. Most posts will display a featured image differently than if the image was just in the post. For archive pages, or even the single post page, it may be vital to have a featured image set. This is the image that best represents the content.
  3. You can change the post date. On the right hand side, under the “Publish” heading, you’ll see a “Publish immediately” line. If the post hasn’t been published (as is the case with a new post), you can click the “edit” link to change the date. If you set the date to the future, the post will be queued and published at that date. If you set it to a date in the past, the post will be published immediately, but will most likely appear in a different order (IE it won’t be the first post on archive, home, etc. pages).
  4. Depending upon your theme and plugins, there is often a lot more information that can be associated with a post. Make sure to go through each item every time you publish a post.

Editing a post

There are a lot of really easy ways to edit one or many posts.

  1. Editing a single post is very easy. Simply click on “Posts” on the left hand side to pull up a list of all your posts. Then click on whichever post you want to edit. This is perhaps the easiest way to edit a post, yet often will take the longest if you want to, say add a category to ten different posts. Once you pull up the edit screen, you have all the same info as you did when adding the post.
  2. The best way to edit meta info (info about the post) is from the list of posts. When you hover over each post, you’ll notice four links. Click the “Quick Edit” link to edit meta info for that particular post (adding a category, changing the date, adding tags, changing the author, changing the title & permalink, etc.). Basically, this is a much faster method for editing your post if you’re just trying to edit anything that’s NOT the content of the post.
  3. Bulk editing is also made very easy with WordPress. From the list of posts, use the checkbox to the left to select the ones you want to change. Again, this is good for editing post meta (date, author, title, etc.). Click the “Bulk Actions” drop down from the top, and click Edit. Then click “Apply.” Once again, all the info (the same as the Quick Edit) will appear, and you can change meta info about the posts. This will change the info for all the posts you have selected. Furthermore, once you make a change, you cannot undo it. Lets say you tag 10 posts with “WordPress” using the bulk edit. To undo that, you would have to go into each post (using Quick Edit) and remove the tag. You can’t remove meta info, only add or edit it.

Deleting a post

There are multiple ways to remove a post with WordPress, and they’re very similar to editing a post.

  1. To delete a single post click that post from the list of posts. To the left of the “publish” or “update” blue button, is a red link “Move to Trash.” Simply click that.
  2. To quickly delete a post, hover over it from the list, and you’ll see a “Trash” option in red. Click that, and your post will be moved to the trash.
  3. To bulk delete a lot of posts, select them all from the list, and click the “Bulk Actions” drop down again. This time select “Move to Trash” and then click apply.

It’s important to note when a post is moved to the trash it IS NOT deleted from your site. To delete them permanently go to the “Trash” link at the top of your posts list. Hover over each post and click “Delete Permanently” or select the posts you want deleted, and click “Bulk Actions” and then “Delete Permanently.” On the same token, you can restore posts using the same method.

I highly recommend deleting posts permanently only if you’re 100% sure you don’t need them. On the other hand, if you let them pile up, without deleting them it can effect the load time of your site and make things a bit clunky and messy.

Tags:
No Comments

Leave a Reply